top of page

Women's March: Passing The Torch


Above: Women's March in Concord, NH; photo courtesy of Jakov Schwartzberg '18

 

They take the sign and keep it as their own, moving the idea forward, passing on the torch.

 

Surrounded by swirling pink crowds chanting “this is what democracy looks

like,” hundreds of bodies pressed against mine, it is nearly impossible to take even one step. A woman shouts from the top of a stoplight, pumping a triumphant fist in the chilly air, and the women around me hoist up their signs. A look of sheer determination lights up their faces. It is January 21st, 2017, one day after Donald Trump was inaugurated as the 45th president of the United States. The flags still hang from the Capitol building, and the bleachers are there too, but they are hard to pick out with the sheer number of people crowding the National Mall. Yesterday, the Mall was used to celebrate a new leader. Today, the Mall is filled to the brim with women from across the United States—and from all over the world—marching to raise awareness about women’s rights. This is the Women’s March on Washington.

Ever so slowly, we make our way toward Independence Avenue, about a block away. Navigating through the crowd isn’t easy, and my family and I are pressed against one another as we move. However, it isn’t as uncomfortable as one might think. Every person we pass seems to smile at us in acknowledgement, like we are all in on a special secret. I look around, wondering why I’m receiving special treatment. But all around me, women are smiling at one another and greeting each other like old friends. Men are there too, some of them even wearing pink hats to show their solidarity with the movement. Reports published later will reveal estimates saying that over 500,000 people were in attendance (ABC News, 1/22/17). Every once in awhile, a cheer reverberates through the crowd. It starts at the Capitol and works its way to the Washington Monument, hundreds of thousands of voices roaring strong. When it reaches me, a strange feeling courses through my body as I raise my voice with those around me. When the cheer passes my area, I am left with a confidence and strength I don’t remember having before.

We are standing on Independence Avenue when the march begins. Alicia Keys sings “Girl on Fire” as we turn away from the large screens broadcasting the performance live and head toward the Washington Monument. Women hold up signs that range from protesting President Trump, to calling for action against climate change, to seeking affordable women’s healthcare. We cross the National Mall again, this time headed toward the White House. Those around us begin chanting in protest of Trump as we draw closer to his new residence. When we reach the outer gates of the White House, we are shocked to discover that hundreds, perhaps thousands, of signs clutter the barricades set up by security in anticipation of the march. Secret Service stand menacingly behind the barricades, carrying large guns and wearing solemn expressions. But on the other side of the barricades, marchers lay down their signs, smiling and embracing one another. According to a report published on Sunday evening, there were no reported arrests at the DC March (NBC News, 1/22/17). I take a moment to appreciate my surroundings, and take in all the commotion, trying to absorb the excitement. I move closer to the barricades, knowing it might be as close as I can get to the iconic White House. At the barricades, the signs call out “Bridges not Walls” and “Empowered Women Empower Women.” As I read the signs, I am overwhelmed by the moment. Later on, I will read that over 600 sister marches were planned worldwide in cities such as New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Boston, Mexico City, Berlin, Paris, London, Prague, and Sydney (ABC News, 1/22/17). Reports will estimate that there were over 100,000 participants in the London March and over 5,000 in cities such as Paris and Sydney (USA Today, 1/21/17). In the US alone, reports estimate that over 3.3 million men, women, and children went to marches across the country. To put that number in perspective, it is roughly 1% of the entire US population (Bustle, 1/23/17). I think back to the cheering crowd on the National Mall and cannot help but feel like I am a part of something bigger than myself. Whether at the gates of the White House, below the Eiffel Tower, or on the shores of Australia, the world is marching, and I am marching with it.

I glance up from the signs at the barricade and take a final look around. I then place my own sign on top of the colorful pile. It reads “Women’s Rights are Human Rights.” As I turn around and head away from the White House, a little girl catches my eye. I watch her as she moves toward the barricades. She leafs through the artistic signs until she reaches a small one at the top of the pile. It’s the one I just placed down: my own sign. She then scoops it up and skips toward her parents, a smile flashing across her face. She poses with the sign, proud of her unique find. I can’t help but smile as the new owner of my sign dances about.

Later on, I realize this small action is perhaps the most important take-away. In my mind, it embodies the whole concept of the movement. I share my beliefs on a handmade sign as so many others do. When I leave the sign behind for the public, someone else, perhaps younger, is inspired, empowered, by the words. They take the sign and keep it as their own, moving the idea forward, passing on the torch.

 

Sources:

Keneally, Meghan. "Politicians, Activists Rally Crowd at Women's March in Washington."ABC

News. ABC News Network, 22 Jan. 2017. Web. 23 Jan. 2017

Millstein, Seth. "Women's March Turnout Estimates From Around The World Are

Mind-Boggling." Bustle. Bustle, 23 Jan. 2017. Web. 23 Jan. 2017.

NBC News New York. "Not a Single Arrest in Massive D.C. Women's March." NBC New York.

NBC New York, 23 Jan. 2017. Web. 23 Jan. 2017.

USA Today Network. "The Women's March That Took over the World: By the Numbers."USA

Today. Gannett Satellite Information Network, 21 Jan. 2017. Web. 23 Jan. 2017.

 

Julia Tilton '20 is a writer for Lamplighter and she is a member of the Class of 2020.

If you are interested in becoming a staff writer, contributor, or guest writer for Lamplighter please reach out to either our Editor-in-Chief Anja Stadelmann '17 or our Management editor Richard Tarpey '17. Their contact information can be found in our 'Meet The Staff' section of our website.

bottom of page